Re: Question about direct techniques

General questions? Ask our experienced practitioners here
dreamphaser

Question about direct techniques

Post by dreamphaser »

hi everybody. first of all, congratulations to michael for his work. his is the third book about obe that i read (the first being robert waggoner's lucid dreaming - gateway to the inner self (good read but lacking detailed techniques explanation), and the second - stephen laberge's exploring the world of lucid dreaming (good read, started doing the techniques but got lost at regular reality checks in waking life). i very much like michael's guidebook for its practical easy-to-understand-and-do approach and lack of new age mumbo jumbo.

i'm currently (since tuesday) working on waking without moving (which turns out to be more difficult than i expected). however, this question relates to the direct techniques (yes, i know, i'm gonna focus first on the indirect ones, don't worry). i have some experience with deep relaxation (and possibly self-hypnosis) and today i decided to try the direct techniques straight away just to see what would happen. so after about 5-10 mins of relaxation (i use body part by body part relaxing for the body and counting down for the mind) i feel the usual numbness in almost all parts of my body, my mind seems slow, hard to control, wandering from thought to thought (note, no lapses of consciousness). then i decided to try to phantomly move my right hand. the problem is that after a few seconds of trying, my feeling in the hand returned to some extent. i started feeling as if my hand was attempting to rise. but just the feeling of attempt. whenever i tried to raise it higher my muscles switched on. although they felt kind of numb, i knew i was using my muscles now. not good.